Chinese Ministry of Science Technology

Queensland was the first Australian state to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST)—China’s central government agency for science and technology development.

Signed initially in 2008 and renewed in 2014, the agreement covers six priority areas of cooperation:

  • agriculture (including food)
  • human health and medical research
  • cleaner and renewable energy technologies
  • environment (including marine and terrestrial)
  • advanced materials and nanotechnology
  • digital-enabled technologies.

An early initiative under the MOU saw the establishment of the Queensland-China Climate Change Fellowship Program, which funded 13 projects. These ranged from the response of emergency management systems, to the effects of climate change on cardiovascular and mental health in Queensland and China.